

MINUTES OF THE ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING OF FINPRO HELD AT LEONDA BY THE YARRA FRIDAY 6 DECEMBER 2019 AT 12.45PM

1. APOLOGIES

Apologies were received from the following members:

- Marc Giglio, Banyule City Council
- Ramki Subramaniam, Moira Shire
- Paul Brumby Central Goldfields Shire
- Danny Wain Monash City Council
- Anna Bartlett
- Simone Wickes Monash City Council
- Matt Jarvis Greater Shepparton City Council
- Sarah Hofmann, City of Casey
- Monica Revell, Hindmarsh Shire Council
- Nathan Morsillo City of Greater Bendigo
- Tony Rocca, Maroondah City Council
- Kristy Stephens Bass Coast Shire

2. CONFIRMATION OF MINUTES OF PREVIOUS ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING HELD ON 30.11.18

Moved Charles Nganga Seconded Zeeshan Qureshi Approved

3. PRESIDENTS REPORT

The President, Bradley Thomas, presented his report to the meeting on the activities of the Association.

Moved Kim Jaensch Seconded Ange Marshall Approved

4. TREASURER'S REPORT

Gabrielle Gordon presented the audited Treasurer's Report for the year ending 30 September, 2019

It is with pleasure that I can report, as Treasurer of Local Government Finance Professionals, that our organisation continues to remain in a strong financial position.

With an income this year of \$450,000 and an operating surplus of just over \$5,500, we have a membership representing all Victorian Local Government Council organisations, and strong support for our professional development program continuing. FinPro is definitely in 'good shape!'.

Over the past 12 months, the FinPro Executive have endeavoured to serve all the members by utilising available funds in a range of ways: seminars, a conference, Leadership program, webinars, monthly member updates and online forums through Yammer. The Executive have also advocated on behalf of members to State Government on a range of issues.

We endeavour to provide our members with a value for money membership and to keep fees for our programs to a minimum. To that end, in the short term we will be reviewing our pricing points in order to ensure we continue to be attainable for all councils, whether they be our metropolitan neighbours or members in remote rural areas, where travel to attend events is often difficult and expensive.

We also understand that the 12 months ahead of us brings with it a great deal of uncertainty, in particular, with the implementation of the new Local Government Act and also once the Rating Review is finalised. It is our intention to devote a significant amount of our financial resources to ensure appropriate guidelines and assistance is provided by us to all our members to assist in this process. We will also be reviewing our communications methods with our members and our website to ensure we keep up to date with the latest technology and also the needs of our members.

Our Leadership Program continues to provide a wonderful mechanism to assist our emerging leaders in experiencing a well-rounded learning environment and to that end we thank Vision Super for once again supporting us both financially and practically in this endeavour.

Finally, I would like to thank the outgoing Executive Team for their support of me in my role as Executive Officer of FinPro. They are a wonderful team to work with and make my experience at work enjoyable and 'generally' easy! I would also like to thank all our members for their continued support of both myself and of our wonderful organisation. I feel privileged to work with you and for you all and wish you all a wonderful Christmas with family and friends.

Moved Kim Jaensch Seconded Binda Gokhale Approved

5. ELECTION OF EXECUTIVE FOR 2019/20

The Executive for 2019/20 as nominated were unanimously voted by the members present. They were (in no particular order):

- Belinda Johnson, Southern Grampians Shire
- Binda Gokhale, Wyndham City Council
- Bradley Thomas, Hepburn Shire Council
- Charles Nganga, Casey City Council
- Danny Wain Monash City Council
- John Brockway Surf Coast Shire
- Kim Jaensch Frankston City Council
- Nathan Morsillo, City of Greater Bendigo
- Gabrielle Gordon FinPro
- Liz Rowland, Moreland City Council
- Tony Rocca Maroondah City Council
- Mark Montague Yarra City Council
- Kristy Stephens Bass Coast Shire Council
- Vishantri Perera Yarra Ranges Shire Council

The outgoing Executive members, Marc Giglio, Helen De La Plaza and Amy Montalti were thanked for their work.

6. APPOINTMENT OF AUDITOR FOR 2019/20

That Mark Peters from HLB Mann Judd be appointed as the Honorary Auditor for the year ended 30 September 2020 and that a letter be sent to Mark Peters confirming this and thanking him for his support.

Moved Zeeshan Qureshi

Seconded Yenni Lim

7. OTHER BUSINESS

There was no 'other business', the Annual General Meeting of Local Government Finance Professionals was officially closed.

Meeting closed at 12.59pm

GABRIELLE GORDON – SECRETARY

9 December 2019